Book Review – A Dead Place Calls by John White

Finch the Heretic has a problem. In order to get back on the right side of the Church, he must journey with a fanatical knight to rescue the small boys who sees visions of the future. Or is rescue really part of the plan?

A Dead Place Calls presented me with conflict. With a tight storyline and an expertly plotted pace, this novella sweeps you along in an adventure that doesn’t stop to pause for even a moment. Exciting and engaging, this is an exhilarating read, and John White has done just enough world building to immerse the reader in a medieval, fantasy setting. The problem was, I wanted more. I wanted to know more about the Heretics, the Priests of Helden, and the Hand of God. I would not have minded falling fully into this world and immersing myself in its culture.

That said, A Dead Place Calls walks the line between literature and genre fiction with deft and precise steps. One does not need to be “fantasy” fan to enjoy the story. It’s a tale of redemption. Finch is an unlikely hero—a con man, a liar, a faker—who finds redemption despite, and even in direct conflict with, the acknowledged status quo, the so-called “good guys.”

Finely written, with excellent character development within the confines of a brusquely drawn world, A Dead Place Calls is the perfect short read for both fantasy and literary readers. I certainly hope John White brings us back to this place again to explore it further, and lets us spend more time with Finch.

Grab this wonderful adventure tale from Amazon.

About literarypicks

I am a managing and acquisitions editor in the publishing industry. I also work in publicity and promotion, sharing the word about wonderful, fabulous books. I love books. I read books. I critique books. Send me your books.

Leave a Reply

